The monsters in the grape vines

Hooly dooly – I don’t know what moth these caterpillars belong to, but they are about 9 cm (3.5 inches) long and as thick as my thumb. The grapes are just about finished and the vines beginning to lose their leaves – aided by these guys.

Peel me a grape, would you?

On a more delicate subject, the looper moth (Pingasa chlora?) below was in my bathroom. These moths are called ‘looper’ because their caterpillars curl their bodies into a loop to move along a twig.

Looper moth

This entry was posted in Animals on land. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The monsters in the grape vines

  1. Mazza says:

    The caterpillars on your grapevine are larvae of a Hawk Moth. I’ll email a photo to you ~ I’ve watched them (and removed heaps) from my grapevines over the years,

    Cheers,

    Mazza

Leave a Reply

