A great barred frog

Last night was one of those weird nights when the wind was swooshing the trees around, and it couldn’t make up its mind whether it was cool or warm, so tried both alternately. The land itself seemed restless and it was not conducive to sleeping, so when Andrew found this frog I had a midnight look at it. It is the great barred frog (Mixophyes fasciolatus), common in our area.

Great Barred frog_2

The great barred frog; photo by Andrew Roberts

I’d often heard them ‘wark’-ing away on wet summer nights, their call deep and resonating. But I imagined from the sound that they would be a lot bigger than this one – 7 cm from nose to rear end. This is within the normal range of 6 to 8 cm for adults.

Great Barred frog_3

It’s called ‘barred’ because of the markings on the legs.Great Barred frog_4

You can here the sound from a link on this page.

I’ll now be able to put a face to the sound in the night – and a very nice face it is, too.

This entry was posted in Animals on land, Frogs and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A great barred frog

  1. joan knapp says:

    What a handsome frog. It’s interesting that it stayed still for you to photograph it. I love all the pics – frogs are my favorite wild creatures – but the expression on its face make the last one priceless!

    • Joy Window says:

      I think it was a bit confused by two giants buzzing around it, one holding a copy of Cogger (three inch thick “bible” of Australian reptile ID) and discussing its stripes and patterns in loud voices. It was out in the open and didn’t have any immediate shelter to hop to, so sitting still was the best option.

  2. Ha! I wondered if your title was a typo or a joke–I’m used to barred OWLS around here. How about that, barred frogs…I had no idea such existed. What a charmer–love those stripes!

  3. Henry says:

    I found one on 04/16/2012 in my back yard in upstate New York,United States

Leave a Reply

