Yes, we have some mammatus

Finally, on the way back from Hastings Point, we spotted a cloud formation I’ve been keen to see. It’s the aptly named ‘mammatus’.

Mammatus cloud formation

Mammatus cloud formation

Mammatus_3

Mammatus in context

Other people have been in the right place at the right time and seen truly spectacular examples.

Mammatus clouds over Regina, Saskatchewan (Image: Craig Lindsay/Wikimedia Commons)

Mammatus clouds over Regina, Saskatchewan (image: Craig Lindsay, Wikimedia Commons)

Mammatus clouds (image: Zachary Hauri, Wikimedia Commons)

Mammatus clouds (image: Zachary Hauri, Wikimedia Commons)

Mammatus in San Antonio, USA (image: Derrich, Wikimedia Commons)

Mammatus in San Antonio, USA (image: Derrich, Wikimedia Commons)

They are associated with severe storms, and the Wikipedia article on mammatus details how they form and has more photos. The Cloud Appreciation Society also has pics.

We certainly appreciated these clouds!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Yes, we have some mammatus

  1. Kath says:

    I am amazed at this cloud formation. I have not seen anything like it. Thanks for the links.

  2. Alan says:

    Once about 20 years ago on a drive from Atlanta to Nashville I drove through a severe thunderstorm and had to pull over for a bit. When things cleared I remember seeing a pattern of clouds exactly like those in the picture from Regina. I was quite intrigued and now I am curious about how close I probably came to a tornado in my blissful ignorance.

    • Joy Window says:

      I don’t think mammatus turn into tornados as such, but are associated in that they are both linked to severe storms. But I’m no expert. It’s great to see clouds one has seen only in books or on the interwebs. I’d love to see the stuff that storm chasers see, but not from so close up!

  3. Cath Clark says:

    Well done catching the photos Joy

    • Joy Window says:

      Thanks, Cate. I was hurtling along the M1 and happened to see the formation and fortunately there was a rest stop 1 km away, so I pulled in there to get some shots. There was a bikey couple who were amused by the name when we explained what we were taking photos of. There’s nothing like educating the public 🙂

  4. janebeau says:

    By coincidence, on the way home from an Open Gardens day yesterday, we passed spectacular (and rare for us) lenticular clouds. Sadly, speeding along the motorway prevented me getting any realists pics, but the best one had 4 parallel bands of sausage shapes plus a 5th angled one – a hand! I am waiting for the apocalypse as we speak 🙂 x j

Leave a Reply

