Tasmanian devil trip – some things I missed out on …

… because I was in a different group when they happened, but Betty and Di kindly shared their photos with me. Thanks, you two!

I went with a group spotlighting and petroglyphing with Sebastien, but chose to go looking for fossils and seeing the damage done by the January/February fires instead of my scheduled morning with him. I’d twisted my ankle the previous day and knew that I would not be up to walking much and that a morning in the bus would rest it a bit.

Seb’s group found some little buddies.

Seb with juvenile devil

Seb with a devil – does it look like Taz? (photo by Betty Jacobs)

Note the ticks on the ears, ever-present on devils …

Juvenile Tasmanian devil; photo Di Bennett

Juvenile Tasmanian devil; photo Di Bennett

The next generation … more young are born than can cling to the four teats …

Baby devils in the pouch - one for each of four teets; phot by Di Bennett

Tiny baby devils in the pouch – one for each of four teats; photo by Di Bennett

Outa there … note the pink, hairless ears.

Running back into what some of the the early settlers thought of as hell

Running back into what some of the early settlers no doubt thought of as hell; photo by Di Bennett

They also caught a southern brown bandicoot; it was the only one for the trip.

Southern brown bandicoot (Isoodon obesulus)

Southern brown bandicoot (Isoodon obesulus); photo by Betty Jacobs

And some spotted-tailed quolls … I was surprised at how big they are, like large cats.

Spotted-tail quoll

Adult spotted-tail quoll; photo by Betty Jacobs

This entry was posted in Travels and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tasmanian devil trip – some things I missed out on …

  1. Pat Lichen says:

    Gracious! What a trio!

  2. Pat Lichen says:

    I imagine! (I’m very jealous!!!)

Leave a Reply

