A couple of Lord Howe marine creatures

Since Lord Howe Island is surrounded by tropical waters, there are the usual goodies – tropical fish in and around beautiful coral reefs. I saw several lion fish (swimming serenely perhaps because of their poisonous spines – don’t touch!), turtles, and small brightly coloured fish that nipped me (sharp teeth!) when I snorkelled over their territories – annoying and interesting at the same time.

My friends Linda and Peter took these photos on Lord Howe  last September of a Spanish dancer (Hexabranchus sanguineus) …

Spanish dancer on Lord Howe Island, photo by Peter Scharf

Spanish dancers are large nudibranchs that swim in a flapping motion, somewhat like the edge of the skirt of a lady flamenco dancer. Here it is attempting to dance – but the water isn’t deep enough …

Dancing Spanish dancer, photo by Peter Scharf

Here’s another nudibranch, probably Dendrodoris denisoni.

Another Lord Howe Island nudibranch, Dendrodoris denisoni, photo by Peter Scharf

Peter also saw this flatworm. I’ll post an identification when I find out what it is.

Flatworm on Lord Howe Island, photo by Peter Scharf

I haven’t seen live ones of any of these myself, but hope to soon.

This entry was posted in The sea, Travels and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A couple of Lord Howe marine creatures

  1. Ooh, I do love nudibranchs! We’ve got our fair share of them out here off the coast of Oregon in the US.

  2. Pingback: Phantastic phasmids | A-roving I will go

Leave a Reply

